When I first read this topic, the only thing I could think of was fighting to get my youngest son an education. I was fighting a system that wanted to medicate a child who just needed help reading. I was fighting a resource teacher who told me Dyslexia was a made up disorder.  I had a principal in my corner though.  Now that son is in college and doing well.

The other thing that comes to mind is just a few weeks ago when a man was trying to pull a woman into his car in the street in front of my house.  I jumped up and went to run outside to help and was only stopped by my husband saying, You should really put some clothes on first.  By the time I was dressed the couple was gone.

As a general rule, it’s easier for women to stand up for other people than it is to stand up for themselves.  It’s one of the reasons that women make less in the workforce.  From the first job offer, men will negotiate a higher salary than women will.  However, we will negotiate for each other which is why women make great realtors.  Women will also look for the win-win solution.  Not sure how this devolved from standing up for myself to a generalization on women not standing up for themselves in the workplace.  It may have something to do with the news story tonight on women in Utah making .64 on the dollar to men compared to the .77 on the dollar which is the national average.  As women, we need to know our value and not let others determine that for us.

